Neuroanatomy Complete!

I officially completed neuroanatomy as of yesterday when I took the NBME Shelf Exam. What is NBME? The National Board of Medical Examiners is an organization that provides assessments of healthcare professionals. After each completed course in medical school, we take an NBME Shelf Exam that serves as a cumulative assessment of the material we should have learned. Unfortunately for any campus on block scheduling such as myself, most exams implement material from other courses as well (some of which we haven’t even taken yet!), but you just have to suffer through those questions and focus on what you know. But I digress… 

Neuroanatomy was definitely a challenging course since I wasn’t familiar with most of the material. However, it was also one of my favorite courses thus far. The complexities of the nervous system are absolutely fascinating, and what’s even more amazing is how much is still unknown. The brain is a truly amazing machine. The course seemed to be the most clinically applicable of everything I’ve had thus far, which made me much more dedicated towards learning the material. Although there is so much more to learn, I can tell that my ability to actually diagnose various conditions is continually developing. Even prior to taking neuroanatomy I had considered neurology a field of interest, and I could still see it as a possibility in my future. That being said, Emergency Medicine always seems to be calling my name. Unfortunately, I won’t be able to explore that field until my fourth year of school. However, I intend to keep an open mind about all fields until I’ve had a chance to experience them. As for now, it’s on to physiology! 

Leave a Reply

