Anatomy Complete! Not a post for weak stomachs…

I actually started this post several weeks ago, but am just now getting around to finishing it. I was hoping to provide a more in-depth discussion, but things are… surprise, surprise…. always busy! Another couple of days and I’ll actually be done with histology too so another post should be covering that in the near future!

I am officially done with medical school anatomy! All of the MS2s said this is the most difficult subject by far and we should expect much more free time the rest of the semester. I figure a summary of some of my experiences is in order. First off, I can now say that:

  • I’ve sawed a skullcap off, subsequently performed a complete spinal laminectomy, and removed the brain and spinal cord as one complete structure.
  • I’ve sawed through a human head with a handsaw, splitting it in half through the forehead and down the nose, all the way to the oral cavity.
  • I’ve removed a human eyeball from its orbit.
  • I’ve cut through more skin than I ever imagined I’d do without being a surgeon.

A few other revelations and summarizing thoughts through the semester include the following:

  • Anatomy is tough! Obviously, I knew this would be the case but the amount of material is still pretty crazy. It’s actually pretty fascinating to realize how much information you’re able to retain if you really put your mind to it.
  • I definitely chose the right profession. Despite the material be overwhelming at times, I love learning it. The human body is absolutely fascinating.

I’ve always had a high level of respect for people who donate their bodies to science. Working with actual human cadavers is essential to becoming a physician and without the good will of those who donate, a comprehensive medical education wouldn’t be possible. This course made me appreciate those who donate their bodies to science even more than I already did.

I’m hoping to start updating this more regularly from here on out!!

One response

  1. Wow that’s a lot of cutting – my anatomy learning is more the learn by textbook/youtube video kind. But yes I definitely agree that donating one’s body to science is such a brave and selfless gesture, I would find it so difficult to do that myself but we can be thankful those who do.

Leave a Reply

