I Swear I’m Still Here

So I haven’t posted in a long time, especially compared to how often I was able to post over the summer. I guess that’s just the life of a medical student! 

I’m currently 3 days into my second week of medical school and here are a few conclusions I’ve made thus far: 

  1. Med school is difficult (duh). I already knew this would be the case, but it is still worth recognizing how much effort goes into studying. I’m pretty sure every second year medical student agrees that a) it’s impossible to completely keep up with the workload and know everything and b) you need to find time to have some fun or you’ll go insane!
  2. It’s the perfect profession for me. This is obviously excellent news and not surprising to anyone who really knows me. Nonetheless, it’s nice to know I’m not going through all this with any doubts and I know it will all be worth the effort! 
  3. Having classmates who help each other makes life so much better! I know there are plenty of schools where students are in competition with each other. Sure that may ultimately be the case for me and my classmates as well. However, the truth of the matter is that 1st year scores don’t mean a whole lot in the scheme of your future in medicine. Secondly, I’d still rather develop friendships and have a good time in medical school than be miserable and feel like everything is a competition. I love being able to depend on my classmates and I love being able to help them out when I can. 
  4. I have an amazing wife (duh again!). I’m not sure if she will see this or not, but I have to say that she’s been pretty amazing through all of this. As I’ve stated before, I had to move to my medical school campus without her and we have a baby due at the end of September. Even so, she constantly lets me know how happy she is for me and is always supportive. Fortunately, my campus is only about an hour and a half from our home (as long as traffic doesn’t get to crazy) so I get to got back to visit regularly. If she does read this… love you babe and thanks for everything! 

 

I’ve got my first anatomy exam coming up this Friday so I’ve been studying like crazy tonight. I’ll definitely be hitting the sack here soon and continuing in the morning, because I think my brain is currently on overload. I absolutely love learning all of this material, but like I said, it’s definitely tough! I’ll try to start posting regularly again, but it will definitely be less than during the summer. Unfortunately, I don’t have much time for reading my nonfiction books anymore either so until I get a break from classes, it’s probably going to be strictly school related posts or updates on my life in general. 

Time to get back to work! 

Leave a Reply

