Hawaiian Vacation Success!

I am officially back to the mainland after my adventures to Hawaii. We visited Kauai for a few days and spend most of our time in Maui. If I had to sum the trip up in one word it’d probably be… amazing!

I took a ridiculous amount of pictures during the trip so there is no possible way I could share all of them.  Just snorkeling accounts for around 150 pictures.

We definitely stayed busy throughout the trip and were fortunate to be able to do quite a variety of activities. A quick list of the major ones includes:

  • Visiting Waimea Canyon & hiking trails
  • Train ride tour at a plantation
  • A LOT of snorkeling at multiple different beaches
  • Kayaking
  • Surfing
  • Stand Up Paddleboarding
  • Spearfishing
  • A Luau dinner

And more! All that and we still had a couple of days at the pool/beach at our resort even.

I’d say snorkeling were my favorite activities of the trip, and I literally spent hours in the water each day. Needless to say, my backside is much tanner than my front!  A quick word of advice for anyone who’s planning a snorkeling adventure… take a digital underwater camera! I used a Sony underwater camera I got for around $100 a few years ago and got some fantastic pictures. Digital is much better than the one-time use underwater cameras since you don’t have to worry about wasting film. This trip alone made it worth the investment!

Spearfishing was another favorite, and we didn’t even catch anything! However, we learned a lot of information. It was more like a fish information, freediving, & spearfishing adventure all mixed into one. I even held my breath for a new personal record of 2 min. 15 sec. after a quick lesson in holding your breath for extended periods of time.

Here are a few pictures from the trip. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

