Medscape Physician Compensation Report

First, let me say that I am by no means advocating going into medicine for money.

Second, I don’t advocate choosing your specialty based on money.

Third, I strongly discourage going into medicine and/or choosing a specialty based on money! If you do, I can assure you that you’ll most likely hate your life at some point in your career.

That being said, people often like to have an idea of physician compensation in various specialties so I figured this would be a worthwhile post. I personally think it’s interesting to see the disparities in certain fields of medicine.

I came across the Medscape Physician Compensation Report while searching around the Medscape website. According to the 2012 data, orthopedics takes the top spot with HIV/ID taking last.

The study states that compensation for employed physicians includes salary, bonus, and profit-sharing contributions.

 

4 responses

  1. Whenever I get really sick of studying and the idea of helping people or how fascinating the human body just doesn’t motivate me, I always look at how much I’ll be earning first year out and once I get into a specialty. I figure if it encourages me to study then it’s OK 😉

    1. Haha nothing wrong with a little encouragement!

  2. I never knew how much each doctor made. Im still trying to take my pre professional classes so that I can take the MCAT exam. I’m still stuck as to what doctor I want to become.

    1. You’ve got plenty of time to decide what you’re interested in so definitely focus on that MCAT for now! 😉

      I know 3 or 4 areas I like right now but am sure I’ll find other interests when I experience rotations.

Leave a Reply

