The sun is not your friend

Personally, I am terrible about wearing sunscreen and am constantly reminded by my wife that I should. Fortunately, the Native American traits from my great grandpa are very obvious in my skin tone, but I do need to get better about protecting my skin. This is a great post showing the drastic effects the sun can have on our skin over time tough!

Tea with MD

Yesterday I celebrated my 26th birthday with a 9 hour picnic in Dolores Park in SF and for the first time in my life I was aware that some of my friends were starting to wear large hats and sunscreen. In fact, one of my friends was asking me about tinting her windows to block out excess sun. Finally…we are all now realizing what our mothers have been telling us since day 1 and what was popularized by  Baz Luhrmann in the popular song from the 90’s “Everybody’s Free (To Wear Sunscreen)”.

If there’s one piece of advice I can offer you as a medical student, it is this: Wear sunscreen. As young people, oftentimes we think we are invincible and since we can’t see the cumulative damage of the sun, we don’t care. But trust me. It can and will show and the sun is not going to…

View original post 364 more words

Leave a Reply

