Medical School with a Family

In all honesty, the most concerning aspect of medical school for me isn’t really even specifically school related. My wife is just under 24 weeks pregnant, and we have a little girl due on September 26. We couldn’t be more excited, but obviously there will be obstacles to overcome as well. Seeing as my school campus is located 1.5 hours from our home, I’ll be splitting my time between living in a studio apartment on campus and living at home with my wife and newborn baby girl. Throw in the inevitable study marathons and I will definitely be a busy man!

Furthermore, my concerns are directed more towards my wife than anything. Obviously, it is challenging to raise an infant to begin with, and the added stress of me often not being there to help won’t make things any easier. Fortunately, we both come from very supportive families and our parents are both within a 5 – 10 minute drive from our home. They will undoubtedly be a cornerstone in her life, and I could not be more appreciative to have their support. Regardless of the challenges, I know we’ll be able to get through them together.

Leave a Reply

